Core Faculty

Name and Title Research Contact Information
Alfonso, Aixa
Associate Professor / Neuro Group Coordinator
Classical and molecular genetic analysis of neural development and synapse function in C. elegans
(312) 355-0318
SEL 3061
aalfonso@uic.edu
Chang, Chieh
Associate Professor
Molecular and opto-genetic investigation of neural circuit assembly and regeneration

MBRB 4072
chiehc@uic.edu
Chuang, Chiou-Fen
Associate Professor
Molecular and genetic mechanisms of cellular diversity in the C. elegans sensory system 

MBRB 4070
chioufen@uic.edu
Featherstone, David
Professor
In Memoriam
Neurogenetic studies of glutamate signaling in Drosophila and mice
(312) 413-2516
SEL 4311
def@uic.edu
Gong, Liang-Wei
Associate Professor
Molecular mechanisms of exocytosis and endocytosis
(312) 413-0089
SEL 4296
lwgong@uic.edu
Leonard, John
Professor
Role of neurotransmitter receptor phosphorylation state in synaptic plasticity and learning and memory
(312) 996-4261
SEL 3055A
leonard@uic.edu
Malchow, Robert Paul
Associate Professor/ LIN Director
Synaptic mechanisms in the vertebrate retina; neural-glial interactions; transport processes
(312) 413-1552
SEL 4083
paulmalc@uic.edu
Murphy, A. Don
Associate Professor Emeritus

Neuronal mechanisms underlying rhythmic behaviors and decision making
(312) 996-8087 
SEL 4275
dmurphy@uic.edu
Park, Thomas
Professor/Associate Head

Neurobiology studies of sensory systems using behavioral and physiological techniques
(312) 413-3020 / (312) 355-1387 
SEL 4278A / SES 3242
tpark@uic.edu
Richmond, Janet
Department Head/ Professor
Molecular mechanisms of synaptic transmission (exocytosis, endocytosis and receptor trafficking) in C. elegans
(312) 413-2513
SEL 4309
jer@uic.edu